oldgreedy.


latest
e-mail
archives
diaryland

pappazon
hahaist011
kostrub
log
comment?

2001-06-28 - 7:34 a.m.

all this stuff happened a few weeks ago, for those out of the loop (ahem! Jake!)...

Now it's time to play... how well do you know oldgreedy!

-

Karla and I are out for a walk to the thrift stores when we come to a woman on the sidewalk. She asks us for 30 cents.

I say no, sorry, and quickly turn away, but Karla wants to help her. She reaches into her pocket in search of change, but can find none. She goes through all her pockets and all she can find is a dime. Karla laughs at herself and apologizes.

�You think this is funny? You think it�s a joke?� the woman asks.

�No, honest to god I�m not. I thought I had change but I don�t,� Karla says.

I produce two dimes and place them into her hands. She doesn�t seem to notice; she�s too busy feeling indignant.

�You think this is funny? I need this money, you know,� she says.

Now. What does our young hero do? Choose A or B.

-

A.

�You think this is funny? I need this money, you know,� she says.

�I know. I really thought I had change but I don�t,� Karla says.

�Then what are you laughing at?�

�I was laughing at myself because I thought I had money. Honest to god.�

I just stand by the side, feeling uncomfortable. Then, after lingering a few more moments, scrutinizing us and our questionable motives, she scoffs, �Thanks for the dime� and wanders off to the bus stop.

We continue along the sidewalk, our enjoyment of our day spoiled. I, who have had my head in the clouds, have been whipped back down to reality. Karla has genuinely wanted to help her with her request, and the woman has been given what she asked for. And we have been rewarded with mistrust and scorn.

�Good grief,� I say.

�Why can nobody take you for what you are?� Karla says. �Why can nobody trust anyone?�

I try to think of something to say, as if I know.

�I guess if you�ve been beat up enough, you don�t trust anyone anymore.�

And we try to shake it off as we head for the thrift store.

-

B.

�You think this is funny? I need this money, you know,� she says.

�I know. I really thought I had change but I don�t,� Karla says.

�Then what are you laughing at?�

I can�t let this pass. We don�t need this.

�Hey. You asked for thirty cents. You got it. You have be suspicious? You have to assume that my friend, who wanted to help you out with some change, is making fun of you? Is your contempt of the world that hard to mask?�

�Don�t you go telling me � � she starts, but I cut her off.

�No. Thanks to you, maybe she won�t be so quick to offer change next time; you�ve helped her to get a little more jaded. She�s seen that you�re not just a nice woman who needs a break, you�ve closed yourself off from the world, you show your fangs at the slightest provocation, you�ve allowed yourself to be corrupted by the world. The world has hurt you, and you are determined to curse it no matter what. You may deserve my pity, but you don�t deserve my help. It�s too late for you.�

We go off in a huff. I have gotten the last word, but now I wonder if I may have gone too far. She�s not a bad person; she�s just got too much pride, and she�s been burned too many times. But she always deserves your help; everybody deserves help if they�re in an unhappy place. But giving money doesn�t really help. It doesn�t stop them from scowling or viewing everyone she sees as a potential enemy. Only love can do that, and we don�t have that kind of time. We�ve got to get to the thrift store.

-

Now which, I ask you, is the real decision our young hero? You decide!

previous - next
about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Site Meter