oldgreedy.


latest
e-mail
archives
diaryland

pappazon
hahaist011
kostrub
log
comment?

2002-01-04 - 9:14 p.m.

The phone rang just as the shelf was tipping over. I�d been trying to attach another shelf to my new detachable metal shelf system (courtesy of the Bonds) when it all started to tip. I�d just shifted it a little, then all the records at the bottom flipped from leaning in one direction to the other, and the whole things started to wobble and slant. I caught it with my hands, then held it steady with my knees as I picked up the phone.

�Hello?�

�Hello, David?�

�Yes?�

�Hi. This is Brian Nadig from Nadig Newspapers.�

�Oh, yeah. Just a minute. My shelves are falling over here.�

I reached down and straightened the shelf, shifting the records on the bottom to lean just so. Nate told me this guy had called.

�Okay, that�s fine,� I said, briskly, when I was done. �Yes.�

�Yes, well, I�d like to tell you a little bit about the position.�

The position, he says.

�Okay. Umm, well, I think you might be confusing me.�

�Okay.�

�I spoke to you about this position a few weeks ago.� Actually it was early November. I�d called to say forget the interview, I don�t want the position anyway. �I mean... Well, was there a different position?�

�Oh oh oh! That's right." Poor guy probably doesn't remember me at all. "We stopped the search over the holidays.�

�Yeah. I�ve actually taken another job since then.�

�Oh, okay.�

�But good luck in your search.�

�Okay. Thanks.�

Now about these shelves.

previous - next
about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Site Meter