oldgreedy.


latest
e-mail
archives
diaryland

pappazon
hahaist011
kostrub
log
comment?

2007-02-11 - 11:28 p.m.

I�m watching the Rufus Wainwright concert DVD that goes along with "Want Two." It reminds me that I would like to feel what he is feeling when he sings to his adoring audience. The joy of sharing something you have created and having it be loved. Pouring yourself out to an audience, and having them eat it up. It feels like fulfilling a destiny. Could there be anything better?

I wonder if there is an equivalent for a writer. Where is the joy? The thrill of writing is a solitary one, or at best done for an imaginary audience, a theoretical one. You cannot see your audience appreciating it. Besides, the book you create is small, gray, a collection of words that must be translated into an experience by each individual reader. When is the moment of reveling in your creation?

Should that be the reason for creating art? Well, it's not because you selflessly want your audience to be improved or inspired or entertained. It's because you want them to be improved or inspired or entertained by you. And you want to see it happen.

previous - next
about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Site Meter