oldgreedy.


latest
e-mail
archives
diaryland

pappazon
hahaist011
kostrub
log
comment?

2006-01-30 - 10:00 p.m.

Hey there, all.
Sitting on the couch on an evening, having gone to bed a bit prematurely, not realizing it was only 9:00, and read a bit of Graham Greene, "The Power and the Glory," which happens to be one of the dreariest books ever written, wonderfully done, but about this sad lonely priest in mexico who's running from the authorities, who want to stamp out christianity, but really he's a drunk and a terrible sinner like us all.
Anyway, read a bit of that and decided to stay up after I finished reading.
Glad to see Pappazon updates. Hey pappazon.
And hey, rosette. Glad to see you checked in. score one for me. Why don't you write about me and how awesome I am on your page? I promise to read it.

Speaking of Penn State people, has anyone been watching Mad TV? I flipped it on the other day, and it's got the guy from Theater 100, Keegan Michael Key, and it was one of the most hilarious shows I ever saw. At least as good as the average Chappelle show. Watch it!

Anyway, I got a new job. It's at this pulishing house called Chrysalis (www.chrysalispublishing.com). I am a sort of senior-esque editor, editing more rarefied material than some of my colleagues, though not supervising anybody, thank god. It's a very laid-back place, no cubicle walls, just a bunch of desks for the most part, actually I'm just at a table, but it is near a window. I'm in a room with two other editors, Kate and Ken, and together we will be working on this fabulous new reading program that will inspire inner city youth to become lifelong readers, because, you know, reading lets you travel to wonderful, far off places.
The commute is kind of long, a bit over an hour, in Natick, Mass., but I had led myself to believe it would be even longer, so that's not so bad. Too bad there's no convenient train, but you can't have it all. I'm just glad to be able to interact with new people, and to be able to come home and not have any work to do. I wrapped up my freelancing jobs yesterday. Halleluia!

Also saw Capote yesterday, which I thought was going to be this life changing experience, but was merely excellent. I bet Brokeback Mountain wins the Oscar, even though I didn't see it. Capote and Walk the Line don't seem quite crazy enough. But Walk the Line was a really fun movie too.

Anyway, still working on that book.

Peace out!


previous - next
about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Site Meter