oldgreedy.


latest
e-mail
archives
diaryland

pappazon
hahaist011
kostrub
log
comment?

2007-01-17 - 4:12 p.m.

See the previous post for more 9-11 chatter.

---

I�m moving tomorrow, or so they say. I�ve spent the past year at this same desk, to my mind the best spot at the company. Now they�ve opened up a new office across the alleyway behind us, a half-finished office that will soon be dominated by the still-developing reading team. The views aren�t as good, looking out into an alley, and the equipment likely will be inferior. I�ll miss this place.

So, a brief tribute to my soon-to-be-former desk. It is a makeshift desk to be sure, actually a folding table with another small table tucked under it. The main attraction is the window to my right, looking diwn on the Eastern Bank, Powers Wine Merchant, and Anton�s Cleaners. Most days you can see a man standing outside the liquor store smoking a cigarette, or someone sitting at the bench in front of the bank, waiting for the bus. My former coworker, Veronica, used to look out the window longingly, wishing she could be out there exercising, enjoying the day, rather than cooped up in an office.

Along the window sill: a paperweight and small wicker basket from Belize, a jade plant, and a bamboo plant, all gifts from Isabel; a snowman snow globe, left behind by some former employee and left in a drawer; a small tree inside a coconut shell, a gift made by my brother Mark; a red planner journal, also from Isa; and a �Nitebeat� mug, which Isa received when after appearing on the show several months back.

Pinned to the wall in front of me are various work documents, a printout of the San Francisco mayor�s proclamation to shoot and kill all looters after the earthquake and fire; a poster of a Kandinsky painting; and a calendar featuring various antique travel posters. To my left is a bookshelf, to which I have taped several photos from my wedding, including: Nate, Brian, and my father-in-law Michael chatting; Isa and me walking out of the chapel; my siblings laughing on the trolley; Dave taking a sip of a beer on the trolley; and Isa and me getting married.

On the desk itself is a small framed wedding photo of Isa and me, and the usual work materials: paper clips, lamp folders, papers, stapler, whatnot. The file cabinet to my left features two magnets with the words �Create� and �Hope�, remnants from Ken, a coworker who used to sit beside me but left a few months ago.

In fact, most of the people I have worked with this year have since moved on. When I arrived, Danielle was my boss, Trina was my equal, and Ken and Kate shared the room with me. Kate left within two weeks. She was replaced by Veronica, who left to work at a gym, a place more suited to her. Danielle was gone when the project ended a few months later; the project nearly killed her. Trina left for another job, and Ken left for other reasons. Now it seems that another coworker, feeling the need to move on, will be leaving within the month.

Oh well. A new office, and certainly new people to fill it. Hopefully good people.

previous - next
about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com! Site Meter